This is not exactly a virtulization topic. However, I did run into a situation where I was trying trying to setup a machine with a six gigabyte WIM file. The network wouldn’t allow me to connect to remote storage to copy the WIM file to the new machine. Rather then waiting for networking to solve the problem; I decided to use a USB stick.  However, when I tried to copy the file; I received an error which stated:

The file is too large for the destination file system

All right? This is a 16 gigabit USB! How is this possible?  It has enough free space!

And then I remembered it was probably formatted for FAT32.

This left two choices.

1) Reformat the USB for NTFS

2) Convert the filesystem.

Probably the best thing to do would be to reformat it but I didn’t feel like copying the contents to another drive so I decided to run the convert command instead.

convert drivename: /fs:ntfs

The file system converted and I was able to copy my large WIM file to the USB.

