I am finally going to play around with Hyper-V.

I found an unused Z-400 which of course was not designed for Server 2008.

It installs from the DVD but I did have two issues with drivers. The NIC and there were missing drivers for the processor interrupts.  The device manager showed an unknown device for each cpu even though it recognized the cpus.

The NIC was solved by going to Broadcom and pulling down a driver the the gigabit card.

The cpu interrupt problem was solved by going to Intel and pulling down their driver tool which reviewed the system’s video, NIC and cpus.   It didn’t recognize the video and NIC but it did mention who made them. I downloaded and install their cpu drivers and the unknown messages went away.

A couple other upgrades, modifications and installing Hyper-V and I am ready to play!.

