I had to test out some automation ideas and remembered an old xenserver 5.6 pool which had not been used in a long time. Xenserver was an experiment for the company and it failed miserably.  What killed it was the slowness of the 10 gig cards.  But that is a story for another time.

As expected, the licenses had expired and there were no plans to renew them so it was time to use the free version.  This was an easy conversion however I found the second server in the pool was not accessible.

I visited the host and found there wasn’t a management interface.  In fact when I tried to detect the NICs; none were found.  I tried a quick reboot but there was no change.

I found the onboard NICs still worked as I was able to ping an IP through the shell.

I figured I would try an emergency reset of the pool master but I received a message stating the machine was not in a pool?  Interesting.  Corruption?

I returned to the shell and entered “xe pif-list” and received an interesting message:

The host is still booting

I thought about reloading server or at least breaking the pool but then it dawned on me.  What if the server was acting as the master at one point?

I decided to reset the master with the command:

xe pool-emergency-reset-master master-address=x.x.x.x

After that; the network information appeared again and the host was accessible via the management client.

The License had expired of course but now I could update it.

